Welcome to the Futurium website!

How do we want to live? What are the challenges and opportunities connected to future developments? How can science and research contribute to the understanding and shaping of these developments? These are just some of the questions to which the Futurium, situated in the heart of Berlin, will be dedicating itself. As of spring 2019, it will be a location for presentations and dialogue that brings together players from the spheres of politics, science and business, the arts and society.

The Futurium is a joint initiative by the Federal Government and leading German research organisations, foundations and business enterprises. It is an independent platform for dialogue and networking between state, science, business and society.

 

 

  • The Futurium gGmbH offers insights into the world of tomorrow. You can experience with how much creativity, spirit of discovery, and vision science and research produce innovation and develop possible scenarios and options for our life in the future. This is how they make a valuable contribution to sustained prosperity – in our country and all over the world.

    Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka, Federal Minister of Education and Research

  • Science discovers, business designs and implements, society decides – the Futurium gGmbH must be a platform for understanding, excitement, and shaping.

    Ulrich Grillo, President of the BDI (The Voice of German Industry)

  • Future is created when the innovation of business and the research spirit of science join forces. The Futurium will give future a place. It promotes public discussion about our most important responsibility: innovation.

    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dieter Spath, President acatech – National Academy of Science and Engineering

  • The Futurium gGmbH is supposed to present the strengths of the research location Germany to a wide public. I welcome this initiative as research and innovation are the capital for the future of our society.

    Prof. Dr. Helmut Schwarz, President of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

  • The project is a great opportunity to let people see and experience research and development.

    Prof. Dr. Margret Wintermantel, President of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)

  • The German science and innovation system is very efficient and secures our prosperity. It is important, that we present this connection to our citizens with successful, practical research and development projects. The Futurium gGmbH will do so on a large scale.

    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Reimund Neugebauer, President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

  • The Futurium gGmbH in the heart of the capital demonstrates that research and innovation are important to Germany. Here, citizens can get information about fascinating research.

    Prof. Dr. Otmar D. Wiestler, President of the Helmholtz Association

  • At the Futurium gGmbH we will meet the possibilities of the future, ask questions, and develop and exchange ideas about how to shape it – we all have questions about the future and create future scenarios in order to be able to act smart today for tomorrow’s world.

    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Kleiner, President of the Science Association Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz

  • I believe this initiative to be very important and future-oriented.

    Prof. Dr. Jörg Hacker, President of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

  • We need not only first-class educational institutions to give talented young people a chance, but also companies like the Futurium gGmbH that show them that science actively shapes our lives.

    Prof. Dr. Martin Stratmann, President of the Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science

  • We all have to shape future together: science, business, politics, society, and culture. My hope is that the Futurium gGmbH will become an important place for this dialogue.

    Prof. Dr. Dr. Hanns Hatt, President of The Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities

  • Germany has a long tradition as an important research, science, and technology location. That is what we have always been, are, and want to be. The Futurium gGmbH in Berlin will show impressively what impulses and innovations the world can expect from Germany.

    Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schuster, Chairman of the Executive Board, Deutsche Telekom Foundation

  • Germany can use its strong technology position to develop solutions in the central areas of food, environment, raw materials, health/medicine, energy and climate, building and living, and mobility and thus ensure our quality of life. Research and development are the basis for innovation – and innovation leads to progress and prosperity. We also need pragmatic laws, science-based decision, a balanced consideration of opportunities and risks, well-trained personnel, social acceptance of innovation, and cooperation between universities, research institutes, and industry.

    The Futurium gGmbH offers a platform for creating curiosity and constructive dialogue to plant the seed for pioneering innovation and sustainable, robust, and affordable solutions, which we need in order to face the challenges of tomorrow.

    Dr. Peter Schuhmacher, President Process Research & Chemical Engineering, BASF SE

  • The basis for social development is creating value and having common values. I am happy that the Futurium gGmbH brings together smart minds from science, business, politics, and society in Germany to shape tomorrow.

    Dr. Kemal Malik, Chief Innovation Officer, Bayer AG, Leverkusen

  • Science and business shape the future with creativity and ingenuity. The Futurium gGmbH is supposed to help us understand innovation and show us how it can be used to shape the future but also, possibly even more importantly, to be a forum for discussing about it.

    Prof. Dr. Dr. Barner, Chairman of the Executive Board, Boehringer Ingelheim Pharma GmbH & Co. KG

  • Innovations can only assert themselves if they prove themselves in practice, i.e. are understood, accepted, and used by people. For this reason, Infineon supports the Futurium gGmbH. It is a display window, test forum, and dialogue platform for the latest high-tech from Germany. Developers meet users and discuss what will move our society forward tomorrow.

    Dr. Reinhard Ploss, Chairman of the Executive Board, Infineon Technologies AG

  • The innovations of the 21st century will not be created behind closed doors – they demand openness, exchange, and intensive cooperation. This is what the Futurium gGmbH stands for, a forum for ideas and innovation, which drives the dialogue about the future of our country.

    Prof. Dr. Siegfried Russwurm, Chief Technology Officer and Executive Board Member, Siemens AG

Participate

The Futurium Lab invites you to join in and design. The variety of subjects, events, and formats ensures that there is something for everyone.

Read more

Future

The future is a place for wishes, hopes, and possibilities. But the future is also a place to communicate about the present. Every future vision asks questions: What do we want right now? What are the challenges and problems now? What can we do to achieve it?

Read more

Futurium

The Futurium is simultaneously stage, museum, laboratory and forum of the future. Starting in spring 2019, it will unite under the same roof an exhibition with vivid scenarios, an interactive laboratory in which visitors can make their own explorations, and a forum for interdisciplinary events and dialogue.

Read more

Sign up to our newsletter

Willkommen auf der Seite des Futurium!

Wie wollen und werden wir künftig leben? Welche Herausforderungen und Chancen sind mit künftigen Entwicklungen verbunden? Wie können Wissenschaft und Forschung dazu beitragen, Mega-Trends zu verstehen und zu gestalten? Diesen und anderen Fragen wird sich das Futurium im Zentrum Berlins widmen. Als künftiger Ort für Präsentation und Dialog wird es Politik, Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Bürgerinnen und Bürger zusammenbringen, um gemeinsam eine wissenschaftsbasierte, gesellschaftliche Diskussion über wissenschaftliche, technische und gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen von nationaler und internationaler Bedeutung für die Gestaltung der Zukunft zu führen. Unter einem Dach entstehen hier eine Ausstellung mit lebendigen Szenarien, ein Mitmachlabor zum Ausprobieren und ein Veranstaltungsforum als Ort des Dialogs.

Das Futurium ist eine Initiative der Bundesregierung gemeinsam mit führenden deutschen Wissenschaftsorganisationen, Stiftungen und der deutschen Wirtschaft. Es ist eine unabhängige Plattform für Dialog und Vernetzung zwischen Staat, Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft.

  • Die Futurium gGmbH bietet Einblicke in die Welt von Morgen. Es macht erlebbar, mit wie viel Kreativität, Entdeckergeist und Visionskraft Wissenschaft und Forschung Innovationen hervorbringen und mögliche Szenarien und Optionen für unser Leben in der Zukunft entwickeln. Damit leisten sie einen wertvollen Beitrag für nachhaltigen Wohlstand – in unserem Land und in der Welt.

    Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka, Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung

  • Wissenschaft entdeckt, Wirtschaft entwirft und setzt um, Gesellschaft entscheidet – die Futurium gGmbH muss eine Plattform für Verstehen, Begeistern und Gestalten sein.

    Ulrich Grillo, Präsident des Bundesverbandes der Deutschen Industrie

  • Zukunft entsteht, wenn die Innovationskraft der Wirtschaft und der Forschergeist der Wissenschaft zusammenkommen. Das Futurium gibt der Zukunft einen Ort. Es fördert die öffentliche Diskussion um unsere wichtigste Aufgabe: Innovation.

    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dieter Spath, Präsident acatech – Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften

  • Die Futurium gGmbH soll die Stärken des Forschungsstandorts Deutschland einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit präsentieren. Ich begrüße die Initiative sehr, denn Forschung und Innovation sind das Zukunftskapital unserer Gesellschaft.

    Prof. Dr. Helmut Schwarz, Präsident der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung

  • Das Projekt bietet eine große Chance, Wissenschaft, Forschung und Entwicklung sichtbar und erfahrbar zu machen.

    Prof. Dr. Margret Wintermantel, Präsidentin des Deutschen Akademischen Austausch Dienstes

  • Das deutsche Wissenschafts- und Innovationssystem ist überaus leistungsfähig und sichert unseren Wohlstand. Es ist wichtig, den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern diesen Zusammenhang mit erfolgreichen, praxisbezogenen Projekten aus Forschung und Entwicklung auch zu zeigen. Dies wird mit der Futurium gGmbH in großem Maßstab gelingen.

    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Reimund Neugebauer, Präsident der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

  • Die Futurium gGmbH mitten in der Hauptstadt zeigt, dass Deutschland auf Forschung und Innovation setzt. Hier können sich die Bürger über faszinierende Forschung informieren.

    Prof. Dr. Otmar D. Wiestler, Präsident der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

  • Mit der Futurium gGmbH werden wir Optionen der Zukunft begegnen, Fragen an sie stellen und Ideen für ihre Gestaltung entwickeln und austauschen – denn wir alle haben Fragen an die Zukunft und entwerfen Zukunftsszenarien, um im Heute klug für das Morgen zu handeln.

    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Kleiner, Präsident der Wissenschaftsgemeinschaft Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz e. V.

  • Ich halte diese Initiative für sehr wichtig und zukunftsweisend

    Prof. Dr. Jörg Hacker, Präsident der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina

  • Es bedarf nicht nur erstklassiger Bildungseinrichtungen, um begabten Jugendlichen eine Chance zu geben, sondern auch Unternehmen wie die Futurium gGmbH, die ihnen zeigen, dass Wissenschaft unser Leben aktiv mitgestaltet.

    Prof. Dr. Martin Stratmann, Präsident der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften e. V.

  • Zukunft muss von allen gemeinsam gestaltet werden: Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik, Gesellschaft und Kultur. Ich wünsche mir, dass die Futurium gGmbH für diesen Dialog ein wichtiger Ort wird.

    Prof. Dr. Dr. Hanns Hatt, Präsident der Union der deutschen Akademien der Wissenschaften

  • Deutschland hat eine lange Tradition als großer Forschungs-, Wissenschafts- und Technologiestandort. Das waren wir, sind wir und wir wollen es bleiben. Die Futurium gGmbH in Berlin wird eindrucksvoll zeigen, welche Impulse und Innovationen auch künftig von Deutschland zu erwarten sind.

    Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schuster, Vorsitzender des Vorstandes der Deutschen Telekom Stiftung

  • Deutschland kann seine starke Technologieposition nutzen, um Lösungen in den zentralen Bereichen Ernährung, Umwelt, Rohstoffe, Gesundheit/Medizin, Energie und Klima, Bauen und Wohnen, Mobilität zu entwickeln und dadurch unsere Lebensqualität zu sichern. Forschung und Entwicklung sind die Basis für Innovationen – und Innovationen führen zu Fortschritt und Wohlstand. Desweiteren benötigen wir eine pragmatische Gesetzgebung, wissenschaftsbasierte Entscheidungen, eine ausgewogene Betrachtung von Chancen und Risiken, gut ausgebildetes Personal, Akzeptanz von Innovation in der Gesellschaft, und Kooperation zwischen Universitäten, Forschungsinstituten und Industrie.
    Die Futurium gGmbH bietet eine Plattform, Neugier zu wecken und im konstruktiven Dialog richtungsweisende Innovationen und nachhaltige, robuste und bezahlbare Lösungen anzustoßen, die wir für die Herausforderungen von morgen benötigen.

    Dr. Peter Schuhmacher, President Process Research & Chemical Engineering, BASF SE

  • Wertschaffung und eine gemeinsame Wertvorstellung sind die Basis zur Entwicklung der Gesellschaft. Ich freue mich, dass die Futurium gGmbH in Deutschland kluge Köpfe aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft zusammenbringt, um das Morgen zu gestalten.

    Kemal Malik, Innovationsvorstand, Bayer AG, Leverkusen

  • Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft gestalten mit Kreativität und Erfindergeist die Zukunft. Die Futurium gGmbH soll Innovationen verständlicher und begreifbarer machen und die damit mögliche Gestaltung der Zukunft sichtbar machen aber auch, vielleicht wichtiger noch, zur Diskussion stellen.

    Prof. Dr. Dr. Barner, Vorsitzender der Unternehmensleitung, Boehringer Ingelheim Pharma GmbH & Co. KG

  • Innovationen setzen sich nur durch, wenn sie sich in der Praxis bewähren, also von den Menschen verstanden, angenommen und angewendet werden. Deshalb unterstützt Infineon die Futurium gGmbH. Es ist Schaufenster, Testforum und Dialogplattform für neueste Hochtechnologie aus Deutschland. Entwickler treffen auf Anwender und diskutieren, was unsere Gesellschaft morgen voranbringt.

    Dr. Reinhard Ploss, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Infineon Technologies AG

  • Die Innovationen des 21. Jahrhunderts entstehen nicht hinter verschlossenen Türen – sie verlangen nach Offenheit, Austausch und intensiver Zusammenarbeit. Hierfür steht auch die Futurium gGmbH, die als Forum für Ideen und Innovationen den Dialog über die Zukunft unseres Landes vorantreibt.

    Prof. Dr. Siegfried Russwurm, Chief Technology Officer und Mitglied des Vorstands der Siemens AG

Mitmachen

Das Futurium Lab lädt zum Mitmachen und Mitgestalten ein. Dank der Vielfalt an Themen, Veranstaltungen und Formaten ist für jeden etwas dabei.

Mehr lesen

Zukunft

Zukunft ist ein Ort für Wünsche, Hoffnungen und Möglichkeiten. Die Zukunft ist aber auch ein Ort zur Verständigung über die Gegenwart. Jede Zukunftsvision fragt, was wir jetzt wollen, was jetzt Herausforderungen und Probleme sind und was jetzt zu tun ist, um sie zu erreichen.

Mehr lesen

Futurium

Das Futurium ist das neue Zentrum für Zukunftsgestaltung im Berliner Regierungsviertel: eine Ausstellung mit lebendigen Szenarien, ein Mitmachlabor zum Ausprobieren und ein Veranstaltungsforum als Ort des Dialogs.

Mehr lesen

Jetzt zum Newsletter anmelden